Foods you never knew were vegan from crumpets to hobnobs

 Why Trust Us


It’s easy to feel like you’re missing out as a vegan. As friends tuck into milk chocolate and frothy lattes, you’re left staring sadly at your cashew nut block. But the good news is, we’ve discovered some tantalising treats that we never knew were vegan. Crumpets and hobnobs anyone? Read on for foods you never knew were vegan…

Foods you never knew were vegan

1. Hobnobs

That’s right, everyone’s favourite dunking biscuit is actually vegan, which makes for the perfect oaty treat. However, none of the chocolate-coated types are. But – confusingly – Hobnob Choc Chip are vegan. Ginger Nuts, Fox’s Party Rings and most Bourbons are also vegan, so you’re sorted on the biscuit front.

2. Crumpets

Despite how amazingly buttery these taste, Tesco’s and Sainsbury’s versions are actually vegan. Spread with jam for a winter afternoon delight.

3. Skittles

That’s right, the colourings in these are now vegan-friendly (remember the rumour about red dye containing blood?) So go on, taste the rainbow.

4. Lotus spread

If you’ve never eaten this from the jar with a spoon, you don’t know what you’re missing. Get going.

5. Oreos

These are basically cream-stuffed, yet somehow, vegan. Healthy, definitely not, but hedonistic and nostalgic, absolutely.

6. Peanut butter

I think one lesson from this list is don’t be fooled by the name of the item. Hands up who still thought PB contained actual, well, B…

Foods you never knew were vegan

7. All flavour Nak’d bars

Possibly the healthiest option on the list, this is great to bear in mind when you’re in a pinch, getting hangry and unprepared.

8. Sour Patch Kids

“Many gummy candies on the market are made with pork or beef gelatine. Sour Patch Kids products may contain a slew of unnatural ingredients we can’t pronounce, but none of them contain animal products,” says Tom Forster, nutritionist and co-founder of plant-based protein brand FIT DELIS.

9. Jacobs Cream Crackers

This was the biggest shock to me, as I assumed for years these had actual cream in them, but apparently not.

10. Pringles (Original, BBQ, Paprika & Smokey Bacon flavours)

So OK, you can’t have the Sour Cream & Onion variety, but with so many other flavours being vegan, the only complaint is how many more crisps you’ll now be eating. Once you pop…

11. Halo Top Peanut Butter Cup

The best ice cream ever (according to me), at less than 400 calories in an entire tub. Some of their other flavours are dairy-free and may be worth perusing, too.

12. Heinz Tomato Ketchup

It’s everyone’s favourite childhood condiment and elevates plenty of pedestrian foods. For more good condiments news, Kajsa Ernestam, in-house dietitian at global health app Lifesum tells me, “brands like Hellmann’s and Biona recently started to make vegenaise (vegan mayo), and Sriracha hot sauce and HP brown sauce are both vegan-friendly.”

13. Cadbury Drinking Chocolate

This cosy warming treat is vegan. Make it extra creamy by blending it with oat or almond milk, rather than just water.

14. Red Wine

“Many people are unaware that a lot of wine is filtered through ‘fining agents’ including casein (milk protein), gelatine and fish oil during production. But thankfully a number of winemakers use animal-friendly fining agents to make vegan wine – including many of Tesco’s Finest wines and Lion’s Gate Cabernet Sauvignon Shiraz,” says Tom.

15. Mr Kipling Treacle Tart

This is so sweet that a little goes a long way, but no need to hold back. The brand’s Apple & Blackcurrant Pies are also vegan, too.

16. Bagels

“Most bagels are typically vegan-friendly, and with a delicious array of flavours including Cinnamon and Raisin, Sesame and Onion, The New York Bakery’s bagel range will offer the perfect indulgent breakfast or snack,” Tom says.

17. Hovis Best of Both Bread

”Breads are most often made with flour, water, yeast, and salt. That being said, egg yolk and butter can be used to enhance the bread texture and flavour, so always double check the nutritional label or at your bakery. HOVIS Best of Both bread is vegan,” says Kajsa.

Remember, we’re not saying the above are healthy or to be consumed regularly – but when you feel like the odd treat, there’s no reason why a vegan lifestyle should hold you back.

Liked this article on Foods you never knew were vegan? Read What happened when I became vegan

By Charlotte

Main image: Veganoo

Related Stories

Share the Article

Want 3 Free Spirituality eBooks?

Your Daily Dose of Spiritual Guidance, Personality Quizzes and a glimpse of what the future holds for you – right in your Mailbox.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *